University of Calgary
UofC Navigation

Advisory Board

Submitted by admin on Wed, 04/20/2016 - 8:32am

Amelia Kiddle

Dr. Kiddle is Associate Professor of Spanish American history and the Coordinator of the Latin American Studies Program at the University of Calgary. She specializes in the political and cultural history of Mexican foreign relations. She has published articles in the Journal of Latin American Studies and Mexican Studies/Estudios Mexicanos.  Her first monograph, Mexico?s Relations with Latin America during the Cárdenas Era, which is based upon her University of Arizona doctoral dissertation (winner of the 2010 Premio Genaro Estrada from the Mexican Ministry of Foreign Affairs) has just been published by the University of New Mexico Press. As an outgrowth of this project, she developed an interest in the Mexican oil expropriation of 1938's place in inter-American affairs.  She and her colleague in Mexico, Cecilia Zuleta recently published an anthology of newspaper articles from Latin America reacting to the expropriation (PEMEX, 2014) and they have begun work on a co-authored book tentatively titled The Mexican Oil Expropriation of 1938 in Latin American Politics and Culture, a project which is supported by an Insight Grant from the Social Science and Humanities Research Council of Canada. Dr. Kiddle received the inaugural Sir Izaak Walton Killam SSHRC Emerging Research Leader Award from the University of Calgary in 2014.

Andre Buret

Dr. Buret established his research program at the University of Calgary in 1995. Dr. Buret has published over 110 peer-reviewed articles, 14 book chapters, and has been invited to deliver over 200 presentations worldwide. Dr. Buret was inducted as a Fellow of the Royal Society of Tropical Medicine and Hygiene (London UK), and a Fellow of the American Gastroenterological Association. His awards include Graduate and Undergraduate Teaching Excellence awards from two universities, the 2007 NSERC Synergy Award for collaborative research and innovation from the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada, the 2007 Research Excellence Award from the Canadian Association of Gastroenterologists, and the 2008 Robert A. Wardle Medal from the Canadian Society of Zoologists for outstanding contributions to parasitology research. His research has been funded by more than 60 grants from numerous organizations, including CIHR and NSERC, and received a Training NSERC-CREATE award on Host-Parasite Interactions in 2012.

Andrea Hatzinikolas

Andrea Hatzinikolas is currently Vice President, Corporate at Alvopetro Energy Ltd., a Calgary-based oil and gas company. Andrea has 10 years of experience in the oil and gas industry, having served in a variety of legal and business focused positions.  She brings experience across a broad range of organizations, from startup phase to large publicly traded corporations and encompassing both domestic and international operations. Andrea began her career as an associate at McCarthy Tétrault LLP, with a practice focusing on securities and corporate law. Andrea holds a Bachelor of Commerce degree and Bachelor of Laws degree.  

Bill Trefanenko

Mr. Bill Trefanenko has 33 years of experience in the oil and gas pipeline industry worldwide. He is the Director of International Operations for Enbridge and is responsible for the operation of Enbridge Technology Inc., transferring Enbridge technology around the world, and is also in charge of business development activities to advance the company's equity interests in pipelines and facilities outside North America. Bill has worked for Gulf Oil, Petro-Canada, NOVA, TransCanada Pipelines and Enbridge, and has managed pipeline projects in a number of countries including Canada, USA, China, India, Malaysia, Russia, Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Peru and Mexico. As well as working in numerous countries Bill has lived and worked in Malaysia, Argentina, Brazil and Mexico while managing projects for national petroleum companies. Bill graduated with a Bachelor  in science degree in Mechanical Engineering in 1977 from the University of Alberta, and since then has been involved in all aspects of pipeline engineering, construction, management and operations.

Harrie Vredenburg

Dr. Harrie Vredenburg is a leading scholar of strategy, innovation, sustainability and governance in the global energy industry and holds the Suncor Chair in Strategy and Sustainability at the Haskayne School of Business at the University of Calgary. He was one of the visionaries who founded Haskayne’s Global Energy Executive MBA and served as its Academic Director for 8 years. He also holds an appointment as a Research Fellow at the School of Public Policy and as an International Research Fellow at the Said Business School at Oxford University in the UK. In addition, he has taught annually in Denmark and the UK for more than 10 years as a member of the International Teaching Faculty of the European Summer School for Advanced Management (ESSAM). He has authored or coauthored more than 50 articles in international journals. According to Google Scholar, his publications have been cited more than 5,000 times. A popular teacher, he lectures in MBA, Executive MBA, doctoral, executive development and corporate directors programs. He was honoured with the 2016-2017 Haskayne MBA Society Top MBA Teacher Award, based on a vote by MBA students.

Michael Doyle, Chair

Mr. Michael Doyle is a Professional Geophysicist and a Certified Corporate Director with more than 35 years of wide ranging experience in finding, developing and producing hydrocarbons. Mr. Doyle is a principal of privately held CanPetro International Ltd. and its affiliates. He has been a director of Equal Energy Ltd., since 1997. Equal Energy is an exploration and production company based in Calgary, Alberta, Canada with an operations office in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA. Mr. Doyle was previously a principal and Chief Executive Officer of Petrel Robertson Ltd. where he was responsible for providing advice and project management to clients throughout the world. Prior to that, he held a variety of exploration positions at Dome Petroleum and Amoco Canada. 

Phil Roberts

Phil Roberts draws on two decades of product, business development and executive experience in the telecommunication and software industry.  As President, Vintri Technologies, Phil is responsible for the overall direction of the organization, its people and its growth into new markets. Prior to joining Vintri, Phil spent 18 years in the telecommunications industry working for a large incumbent carrier and international operator in several regional and international initiatives across North America and Europe.Phil is an active volunteer having served in various not-for-profit organization, including Norfolk Housing and Canadian Red Cross (Southern Alberta Council).  Phil currently is currently the Vice Chair of the Calgary Chamber and sits as a Director on the cSPACE Projects Board. Phil holds a Bachelor of Commerce from the University of Calgary (BComm ‘99), as well as an MBA in Digital Technologies Management from Royal Roads University.

Richard Sigurdson

Dr. Sigurdson was formerly Duff Roblin Professor of Government and professor in the Department of Political Studies at the University of Manitoba.  From 2004 – 2011, he was dean, Faculty of Arts and from 2005 – 2011, he was acting provost, University College, University of Manitoba. Dr. Sigurdson served as chair of philosophy, history and politics and acting dean of arts at Thompson Rivers University, then as professor and chair, Political Science at the University of New Brunswick from 1999. He sits on the editorial advisory board of the Canadian Political Science Review, and was recently a visiting research professor at the John F. Kennedy Institute for North American Studies, Free University, Berlin.